

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Reorganization Meeting November 1, 2018

Minutes

The annual reorganization meeting of the Ocean County College Board of Trustees was called to order by Dr. Jon Larson, President, at 12:30 p.m. on Thursday, November 1, 2018, in the Boardroom of the Administration Building on the college campus. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present.

Call to Order

The announcement of public meeting was made by Mrs. Bello in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act of 1975.

Public Meeting Announcement

Those in attendance were: Mr. Carl V. Thulin, Mr. Jerry Dasti, Mr. Stephan Leone, Mr. Robert Fall, Mrs. Joanne Pehlivanian, Mr. John Peterson, Mr. Jack Sahradnik, Dr. Jon Larson, Executive Vice President Sara Winchester, Interim Associate Vice President Joseph Konopka, and Vice President Gerald Racioppi.

Attendance

Mr. Sahradnik administered the oath of office to Mr. Jerry Dasti, who was reappointed by the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders to serve a four-year term on the Ocean County College Board of Trustees from October 17, 2018, through December 19, 2022. Dr. Larson and the members of the Board congratulated Mr. Dasti.

Swearing-In of Mr. Dasti

Dr. Larson requested nominations for officers of the Board of Trustees. Mr. Dasti served as Chair of the Nominating Committee, with Mr. Fall, Mrs. Pehlivanian, and Mr. Leone as members. Mr. Dasti deferred to Mr. Fall to offer the slate of nominees since he was among those nominated to serve as an officer. Mr. Fall offered the following nominees:

Election of Officers

Mr. Thulin, Chairperson Mrs. Novak, Vice Chairperson Mr. Leone, Secretary

Mr. Dasti, Treasurer

By motion, nominations were closed; by subsequent motion, the above officers were elected by unanimous roll call vote.

Mr. Thulin then assumed the chair for the remainder of the meeting. He thanked the trustees for their continued confidence in his service as chairperson as well as expressed his appreciation for their outstanding commitment to the College.

Mr. Thulin presented the amended 2018-2019 Board committee membership. Upon roll call vote, the committee membership was unanimously approved as follows:

Committee Membership Approved

♦ Buildings and Grounds Committee

Mrs. Linda Novak, Chairperson

Mr. Jerry Dasti

Mr. Frank Dupignac

Mr. Joe Teichman

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ Bylaw, Policy, and Curriculum Committee

Mr. Thomas Monahan, Chairperson

Mr. Robert Fall

Mrs. Joanne Pehlivanian

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ Finance Committee

Mr. Jerry Dasti, Chairperson

Mr. Frank Dupignac

Mr. Thomas Monahan

Mr. John Peterson

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ Personnel Committee

Mr. Stephan Leone, Chairperson

Mr. Robert Fall

Mr. Thomas Monahan

Mrs. Joanne Pehlivanian

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ Executive Committee

Officers of the Board

Reorganization Meeting Minutes

♦ Audit Committee

Mr. Jerry Dasti

Mrs. Linda Novak

Mrs. Joanne Pehlivanian

Mr. Joe Teichman

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ Compensation Committee

Mr. Jerry Dasti, Chairperson

Mr. Stephan Leone

Mrs. Linda Novak

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ International Program Committee

Mr. Robert Fall, Chairperson

Mr. Stephan Leone

Mrs. Linda Novak

Mr. John Peterson

Mr. Carl V. Thulin

♦ <u>Litigation Committee</u>

Members to be appointed as needed

(Grievance Hearings – Mr. Dupignac,

Mr. Leone, Mr. Peterson,

Mr. Teichman, Mr. Thulin)

A resolution was unanimously adopted by roll call vote to designate the fourth Thursday of each month as the date for the regular public meetings of the Board of Trustees at 12:30 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Administration Building, except as noted:

Designation of Board Meeting Dates and Locations

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Thursday, March 28, 2019

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Thursday, June 27, 2019

Thursday, July 25, 2019

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

No October meeting

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Thursday, December 12, 2019

11/1/2018

A resolution was unanimously adopted by roll call vote to designate the following dates for Board of Trustees Retreats, to be held at 12:00 noon in the Boardroom of the Administration Building:

-4-

Designation of Board Retreat Dates and Locations

Thursday, January 10, 2019 Thursday, April 11, 2019 Thursday, July 11, 2019 Thursday, October 17, 2019

The following Ocean County College depositories were approved by unanimous roll call vote:

Designation of Depositories

CROWN BANK

273 Brick Boulevard Brick, New Jersey 08723

1. Certificates of Deposit

BERKSHIRE BANK

669 Whitehead Road Lawrenceville, NJ 08648

1. Money Market Account - Ocean County College

LAKELAND BANK

2120 W. County Line Road Jackson, New Jersey 08527

1. Money Market Account – Ocean County College

INVESTORS SAVINGS BANK

130 N County Line Road Jackson, New Jersey 08527

- 1. Money Market Account Ocean County College
- 2. Checking Account Capital

OCEAN FIRST

975 Hooper Avenue Toms River, New Jersey 08753

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

Reorganization Meeting Minutes

1st CONSTITUTION BANK

3441 U. S. Highway 9 Freehold, New Jersey 07728

1. Money Market Account – Ocean County College

UBS FINANCIAL

100 Overlook Center, Ste 100 Princeton, NJ 08540-5270

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

SANTANDER BANK

1866 Hooper Avenue Toms River, New Jersey 08754

- 1. General Checking Account
- 2. Student Life
- 3. Investment Money Market
- 4. Restricted Fund Checking
- 5. Section 125
- 6. Payroll
- 7. International

Services:

- 1. Direct Deposit
- 2. Automated Account Reconciliation
- 3. Foreign Drafts
- 4. Credit Card Service
- 5. Wire Transfer
- 6. Positive Pay

STATE OF NEW JERSEY CASH MANAGEMENT FUND

C/O State Street Bank and Trust P.O. Box 5994 Boston, MA 02206-5994

1. Purchase of Money Market Shares: NJ Employment Security Agency

11/1/2018

STERLING NATIONAL BANK

21 Scarsdale Road Yonkers, NY 10707

1. Money Market Account – Ocean County College

METLIFE

One Financial Center Boston, MA 02111

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:38 p.m.

Adjournment

Respectfully submitted,

Stephan R. Leone Secretary

Jodi Heitmann Executive Assistant to the President