

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Reorganization Meeting November 3, 2014

Minutes

The annual reorganization meeting of the Ocean County College Board of Trustees was called to order by Dr. Jon Larson, President, at 12:35 p.m. on Monday, November 3, 2014, in the Boardroom of the Administration Building on the college campus.

Call to Order

The announcement of public meeting was made by Mrs. Bello in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act of 1975.

Public Meeting Announcement

Those in attendance were: Mr. Carl V. Thulin, Mrs. Linda Novak, Mr. Jerry Dasti (by phone), Mr. Stephan Leone, Mr. Emil Kaunitz, Mr. Thomas Monahan, Mr. Nick Devlin, Mr. Jack Sahradnik, Dr. Jon Larson, Executive Vice President Sara Winchester, Vice Presidents Allison King and Jianping Wang, and Interim Vice President Norma Betz.

Attendance

Mr. Sahradnik administered the oath of office to Mr. Jerry Dasti, Mrs. Linda Novak, and Mr. Thomas Monahan, who were reappointed by the Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders to serve four-year terms on the Ocean County College Board of Trustees from October 1, 2014, through December 19, 2018. Dr. Larson and the members of the Board congratulated Mr. Dasti, Mrs. Novak, and Mr. Monahan.

Swearing-In of Mr. Dasti. Mr. Monahan, and Mrs. Novak

Dr. Larson requested nominations for officers of the Board of Trustees. Mr. Dasti served as Chair of the Nominating Committee, with Mr. Leone and Mr. Monahan as members. Mr. Monahan offered the following slate of nominees for officers of the Board:

Election of Officers

Mr. Thulin, Chairperson Mrs. Novak, Vice Chairperson Mr. Leone, Secretary Mr. Dasti, Treasurer By motion, nominations were closed; by subsequent motion, the above officers were elected by unanimous roll call vote.

Mr. Thulin then assumed the chair for the remainder of the meeting. He thanked the trustees for their continued confidence in his service as chairperson as well as expressed his appreciation to Mrs. Novak, Mr. Dasti, and Mr. Leone for their outstanding commitment to the College as officers of the Board.

Mr. Thulin presented the 2014-2015 Board committee membership as listed on the agenda. Upon roll call vote, the committee membership was unanimously approved as follows:

Committee Membership Approved

♦ Buildings and Grounds Committee

Mrs. Novak, Chairperson

Mr. Dasti

Mr. Dupignac

Mr. Kaunitz

♦ Bylaw, Policy, and Curriculum Committee

Mr. Monahan, Chairperson

Mr. Leone

Mrs. Pehlivanian

♦ Finance Committee

Mr. Dasti, Chairperson

Mr. Frank Dupignac

Mr. Emil Kaunitz

Mr. Thulin

♦ Personnel Committee

Mr. Leone, Chairperson

Mr. Monahan

Mrs. Pehlivanian

Dr. Smithers

Mr. Thulin

◆ Executive Committee

Newly elected officers of the Board

♦ Board of School Estimate

Mr. Thulin

Mr. Dasti

Mr. Leone, Secretary

11/3/2014

♦ New Jersey Council of County Colleges Ambassadors

Mr. Thulin

♦ Audit Committee

Mr. Dasti

Mr. Leone

Mrs. Novak

Mr. Kaunitz

Mr. Thulin

♦ Liaison Committee

Mr. Dupignac

Mr. Leone

Mrs. Pehlivanian

♦ Compensation Committee

Mr. Dasti, Chairperson

Mr. Leone

Mrs. Novak

Mr. Thulin

♦ Litigation Committee

Members to be appointed as needed

A resolution was unanimously adopted by roll call vote to designate the fourth Monday of each month as the date for the regular public meetings of the Board of Trustees at 12:30 p.m. in the Boardroom of the Administration Building, except as noted:

Designation of Board Meeting Dates and Locations

Monday, December 8, 2014

Monday, January 26, 2015

Monday, February 23, 2015

Monday, March 23, 2015

Monday, April 27, 2015

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Monday, June 22, 2015

Monday, July 27, 2015

Monday, August 24, 2015

Monday, September 28, 2015

No October meeting

Monday, November 2, 2015

Monday, December 7, 2015

A resolution was unanimously adopted by roll call vote to designate the following dates for Board of Trustees Retreats, to be held at 12:00 noon in the Boardroom of the Administration Building:

Designation of Board Retreat Dates and Locations

Friday, December 16, 2014 Friday, January 16, 2015 Friday, April 17, 2015 Friday, July 17, 2015 Friday, October 16, 2015

The following Ocean County College depositories were approved by unanimous roll call vote:

Designation of Depositories

CROWN BANK

715 Highway 70 Brick, New Jersey 08723

1. Certificates of Deposit

HARMONY BANK

2120 W. County Line Road Jackson, New Jersey 08527

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

INVESTORS SAVINGS BANK

864 Route 37 West Toms River, New Jersey 08755

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

OCEAN FIRST

975 Hooper Avenue Toms River, New Jersey 08753

- 1. Investment Account Ocean County College
- 2. Foundation Checking Accounting
- 3. Foundation Investment Fund

FIRST CHOICE BANK

669 Whitehead Road Lawrenceville, New Jersey 09648

- 1. Investment Account Ocean County College
- 2. Certificate of Deposit

NJ COMMUNITY BANK

3441 U. S. Highway 9 Freehold, New Jersey 07728

1. Investment Account – Ocean County College

SANTANDER BANK

1866 Hooper Avenue Toms River, New Jersey 08754

- 1. General Checking Account
- 2. Bookstore Checking Account
- 3. Bookstore Money Market Account
- 4. Student Life Emergency Account
- 5. Restricted/Perkins Loan Account
- 6. Athletic Fund Account
- 7. Investment Account
- 8. Capital Checking Account
- 9. Restricted Fund Checking Account
- 10. Section 125 Account
- 11. Payroll Account

Services:

- 1. Direct Deposit
- 2. Electronic Check Reconciliation
- 3. Foreign Drafts
- 4. Credit Card Service
- 5. ACH Payments
- 6. Wire Transfer
- 7. Positive Pay

11/3/2014

STATE OF NEW JERSEY CASH MANAGEMENT FUND

C/O Citi Fund Services P.O. Box 182218 Columbus, Ohio 43218-2218

1. Purchase of Money Market Shares: NJ Employment Security Agency

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:43 p.m.

Adjournment

Respectfully submitted,

Stephan R. Leone Secretary

Connie Bello Recording Secretary